A Hope for a Normal Day

All over the world, there are masses of displaced, homeless people who are not having their normal days.  They have fled their homes and left their normal lives behind them.  Their normal days and routines are disrupted, and their days may never be the same again.

War or natural disasters such as fires, floods, drought, famine, hurricanes, earthquakes, etc., has displaced multitudes.  A rapidly declining global economy, where  employment or a decent, living wage is difficult to find, has displaced yet more people.  I am certain these people, as well as many others, can relate to the following quotation from the book Yes World, written by Mary Jean Orion:

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, savor you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.”

“Let me hold you while I may, for it will not always be so. One day…I shall want more than all the world for your return.”

If we have a normal day today and have our basic needs, let us not pass this day by in quest of some rare or perfect tomorrow.  Instead, let us enjoy and be grateful for this normal day; and at the same time, pray for and do what we can to help others who do not the opportunity to have a day like ours.

I love the lyrics to a Christian song that say:

“There’s a roof up above me.  I’ve a good place to sleep.  There’s food on my table, and shoes on my feet.  You gave me your love Lord and a fine family. Thank you Lord for your blessings on me…   I know I’m not wealthy, and these clothes are not new, and I don’t have much money…Thank you Lord for your blessings on me.”   If you would like to listen to the song, click on the YouTube link below.

count your blessings

Today I am counting my blessings.  What about you?

I do not choose, control, or receive compensation for the advertisements/videos inserted below.  Please do not view them as part of article content.

